Little Boy, Little Girl

This song is one of my childhood memories. I wished if it was made the part of the school assemblies.

I sang it to my daughter, to make sure the message is conveyed.  As a mother, I had to do it with no time delayed.

As she needed an explanation, who were Sir Syed and Iqbal?  What did they have to do with knowledge and standing tall?

I told her, they were the visionaries of Islamic history.  They played their role with pen, solved the mystery.

The mystery of nationalism, patriotism and passion.  That the Muslims are only bound to freedom, that’s the only obsession.

They don’t live slave, they like to keep none.  They deliver the rights, as ordained by the Mighty One.

میں چھوٹا سا اک لڑکا ہوں پر کام کروں گا بڑے بڑے
جتنے بھی لڑاکے لڑکے ہیں ان سب کو نیک بناؤ
ں گا
جوبچھڑے ہوئے ہمجولی ہیں ان سب کو ایک بناؤں گا
سب آپس میں مل جائیں گے جو رہتے ہیں اب لڑے لڑے
میں چھوٹا سا اک لڑکا ہوں پر کام کروں گا بڑے بڑے
یہ علم کی ہیں جوروشنیاں میں گھرگھرمیں پھیلاؤں گا
تعلیم کا پرچم لہرا کر میں سرسید بن جاؤں گا
بیکار گذاروں عمر بھلا کیوں اپن
ے گھر میں پڑے پڑے
میں چھوٹا سا اک لڑکا ہوں پر کام کروں گا بڑے بڑے
میں چاروں طرف لے جاؤں گا اقبال نے جو پیغام دیا
میں ہی وہ پرندہ ہوں جس کو اس نے شہباز نام دیا
اب میرےپروں سے چمکیں گے سب ہیرے موتی جڑے جڑے
میں چھوٹا سا اک لڑکا ہوں پر کام کروں گا بڑے بڑے

When a nation lives in dark ages, it’s literates feel no shame on being slaved, it’s illiterates take pride in their ignorance, the educational institutions are not the source of knowledge and inspiration anymore.  Then the little poems are used for innocent minds to remind of their legacy and continue till eternity.


About Rubik
I'm Be-Positive. Life is like tea; hot, cold or spicy. I enjoy every sip of it. I love listening to the rhythm of my heart, that's the best

One Response to Little Boy, Little Girl

  1. Pingback: Little Boy, Little Girl (via PIECEMEAL) « AHKath's Blog

Leave a comment